Namaste Thailand - Reisverslag uit Bangkok, Thailand van Theodorus Mokkink - WaarBenJij.nu Namaste Thailand - Reisverslag uit Bangkok, Thailand van Theodorus Mokkink - WaarBenJij.nu

Namaste Thailand

Door: Dorus

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Theodorus

26 November 2013 | Thailand, Bangkok

Im in Thailand!

The past few days really went by at an amazing speed. Most of them I spent in Boudnath, a Tibetan Buddhist village close to Kathmandu. Its litteraly swamped with monks, of all ages, and monasteries. Arriving there the day before election meant finding a place to stay was a challenge. The entire country would be locked and nobody was moving. So it was full full and full at the guesthouses. Or I had the option to pay $35 for something close to a bridal suite. Luckily there were my Brabantian Angels Marlon and Noortje (Eindhovuh de gekstuh! We ended up sharing the last room at a guesthouse which was on the grounds of a monastery.
At the first night I had my first bad encounter with asian food. It came back in several ways. Im all good now, I couldn't have whished for better company to recover.

During our stay our group of friends grew. Olli from Germany and Kyle from South Africa. We teamed up for a Futsal match against some Nepali friends of ours. We had a rough start. Goals were flying to the left and right of us. But we came back! We ended up tieing the score. We all had a great time. After some chilling for the remaining days we all went our seperate ways again. For me it meant doing the last thing in Nepal I had planned. Returning to KRMEF. It was more then a month since I last visited it. It was like returning home. It was supposed to be this way. Krishna was at the playground giving me a warm welcome. The very same goes for Leela, Santosh, Tabita and Jimbo. One of my main reasons to come back was because of Anu and Christie. Upon my previous departure from the foundation the agreement was reached that I would be greeted in style. This would mean the girls would wear sari's, the nepali tradtional dress. So it happened! The girls were a bit shy at first, but eventually we got outside their room and managed to get a picture. Im really happy and proud to have seen in sari! This time the goodbye would last a little longer. Im gonna miss them!

So then it was off to the dentist! I have had a feeling that I should visit one so with the help of Krishna I managed to arrange one on short notice. Getting there on the back of a motorcycle (just like one of my first experiences in Nepal) feels like closure in a way. The dentist however confirmed my fear. There is a hole in my tooth that is getting so deep that I need rootcanal treatment. Right now I dont have pain. The dentist advised me to postpone any treatment if its possible. Im more then glad to follow the advice! After my visit I was waiting outside on the bus. A couple of minutes later a motorcycle pulled over. It was my dentist. He offered me a ride.
He dropped me off at a bus that directly brought me back to Boudnath.

Departing from Boudnath, amidst of monks who were doing their morning rituals, I set foot. Arriving at the airport with loads of time. Unfortunately having a delay of an hour. They usually wait for all the passengers over here. Youll notice it because they litteraly come by screaming the passengers name! Bangkok it is! Its truely overwhelming. The contrast with Nepal couldnt have been bigger. Its my first contact with a metropole. I arrived at an insanely big airport, close to heathrow in size I reckon. I went by direct train to the skytrain. The airport is outside of the city and the more you get in the city the bigger the buildings become. They are connected by huge (high)ways. Bangkok truely is the city that never sleeps. The, electric, lights are everywhere. Fancy and shiny displays everywhere, and thats just my first impression. More to come, more to come. Im now close to Sky Bar. Apparently a part of the Hangover 2 was shot here?! The weather is just hot. In the evening at 21.30 its still 29 degrees. Last check I did during the day showed 35 degrees!

No clue where to next. Only thing that seems sure is the Full Moon party!

  • 26 November 2013 - 10:27

    Madelon:

    Wat een avontuur! Vervelend van je gebit, maar hopelijk blijft t goed gaan. Veel plezier nogmaals en blijven genieten :)

  • 26 November 2013 - 12:12

    Harmke:

    Heej Dorus!

    Super leuk die avonturen in Nepal. Wel balen van je tand zeg... Ga je het in Nl laten behandelen?
    Vet dat je in Thailand bent, ik herken je verhalen over BK helemaal :)
    Veel plezier!
    Liefs

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Thailand, Bangkok

Theodorus

Actief sinds 19 Sept. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 619
Totaal aantal bezoekers 21191

Voorgaande reizen:

17 December 2023 - 07 Februari 2024

Vamos a Ecuador!

28 Februari 2022 - 27 Maart 2022

Pelgrimage in Ireland

11 Januari 2018 - 11 Juli 2018

My Greek adventure

19 September 2013 - 02 April 2014

Namaste Dorus

Landen bezocht: