Yamas - Reisverslag uit Thessaloniki, Griekenland van Theodorus Mokkink - WaarBenJij.nu Yamas - Reisverslag uit Thessaloniki, Griekenland van Theodorus Mokkink - WaarBenJij.nu

Yamas

Door: Theodoros

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Theodorus

22 Januari 2018 | Griekenland, Thessaloniki

Yassas my beautiful people, im in Greece!

It has has been a crazy adventure the past weeks.
The 15th of december I permanently left my room in Maastricht.
I enjoyed over 3 beautiful years there in a cosy house in Heugem.
Wandering around The Netherlands for a bit, being hosted by kind and warm people.
A Meditation retreat in Germany over New Years, which was amazing!
The experience of actually going into the new year while you meditate is impressive. Around you you hear FireWorks, but aside from one slight impuls to go out and look. I just sat for half an hour.. doing absolutely nothing. Definite something new.
Sunday the 8th of January there was a beautiful and warm being together from a dear collection of friends (and my dad) who tagged along on an invitation to celebrate life! ❤
The next day a very spontaneous last minute trip to Berlin to meet up with the beloved Elenor. She left for Peru on the 12th of January. Exciting times!

Then the big news; on Thursday the 11th of January, after a luxurous taxiride from my dear friend Rindert (thanks ouwe!) to Charleroi i embarked on my single way flight to Athens Greece!

Over the past months I noticed I was a out of touch with my path in life. It hurt on various levels. It needed some space to realize this. Bit by bit it became apparent my soul wants to physically move.. Meeting a lot of interesting people and places that became clear. Greece! I had no clue why. I did not second guess this. My mind wanted to be funny and asked to have an island included in this. Sure, we can make that work!

I arrived in Athens. In a strange way it felt very familiar.. a coming home. Maybe because it is not totally new to me.My motheralso went to Greece with my dad during her first months of carrying me in her uterus.
For some reason I kissed the ground when I set foot on Greek soil.

It was a bit warmer then the West of Europe that I had just left. Upon my way to my hostel I found the Acropolis on my way. It was already evening and it was beautifully lit up. Goosebumps all over. Add to that a very warm welcome at my hostel and I knew it was good!

Athens is HUGE, I did not know until I flew over it. Apparently around 3,5 million peoples in the entire agglomerate. Like 40% of the country! It has so much interesting Culture and history. I can really imagine staying here for a few months.

During my stay here I met a lot of kind people. Good company to hang out with. Memorable examples a woman who offered homemade chickensoup at a hostel. Really quality food there! Then this sweet guy from Syria who I sat opposite too in my dormitory. I lit a candle.. I gazed into the little flame. He looked at it and at me and in silence handed me a banana to eat, ate one of his own and continued to look on his phone. (It was magical, I dont care that maybe he was silent because there was a guy sleeping) Later on when I meditated near my candle he made sure it wasnt blown out by the wind. A small gesture can truly change the world..

I had my first couchsurfing experience! I made a public request for a couch and there was Dimitris, my life savior. I always find it quite special to be invited over at someones place. To me its a very safe, almost sacred place. This is where, most of the time, someone feels at home. And he/she feels okay to share that with you. I found a very nice and welcoming spot a bit north in Athens.

It's not always easy to be here without a plan. The mind takes over and demands a song (that is actually what I wrote haha) okay, so a song and a plan amongst things! To be at ease with that. To breath/play through it and see the beauty that is there when its truly welcomed. Not always easy. My mind can go crazy @ss Monkey sometimes. Better and better I learn to see that, acknowledge it and continue to live.

Slowly step by step my path here is unfolding. Since yesterday I am in Thessaloniki, up north. Its rather chilly here at the moment. Freezing over night.. Max 8/9 degrees during the day. With the sun its nice.
I noticed if I 'pick' a spot with my heart, I land at the most beautiful places. More to come!

I think that is it for now :)

For the next days I have a new couchsurfing spot in the woods near Thessaloniki (im really curious towards that and looking forward!)
On the 1st of February I will be allowed into Mount Athos. A Greek-Orthodox Christian area with loads of monasteries. Man only (!) Curious how that will be. Apparently very impressive and it feels good to go there! Ill be there for 4 days.. Im looking around a bit for places to volunteer/live after that

  • 22 Januari 2018 - 20:13

    Marie-Josë:

    Hoi Dorus ,was blij iets van je te horen! Leuk om te lezen hoe je het daar in Greece maakt.Het gaat je goed en denk goed aan jezelf.groetjes Marie-Josë

  • 23 Januari 2018 - 22:32

    Corrien:

    Mooie reis en mooi reisverslag ! Gaan waar je hart je brengt, los van wat wrikt, vrijheid ervaren,de aarde kussen, thuiskomen ! <3 & een klooster

  • 30 Januari 2018 - 16:14

    Linda:

    Hai Dorus, wat mooi je ervaringen te lezen en wat fijn dat je thuis bent in Griekenland. Het lijkt me een bijzondere plek om te zijn waar zowel het oude, het heden als het nieuwe zichtbaar zijn en samenkomen. Heel veel moois (en lelijks, daar leren we immers van) toegewenst en zonder je pad al teveel te willen sturen "go Lesbos!" (Because We Carry en Movement on the Ground doen daar heel mooi werk). Liefs Linda

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Griekenland, Thessaloniki

Theodorus

Actief sinds 19 Sept. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 731
Totaal aantal bezoekers 21017

Voorgaande reizen:

17 December 2023 - 07 Februari 2024

Vamos a Ecuador!

28 Februari 2022 - 27 Maart 2022

Pelgrimage in Ireland

11 Januari 2018 - 11 Juli 2018

My Greek adventure

19 September 2013 - 02 April 2014

Namaste Dorus

Landen bezocht: